All committee related posts


Remembering Tyler

The Oxford and Cambridge Society of Singapore deeply regrets to report the passing of our beloved Committee member Tyler Hung. Tyler will be remembered as larger than life, a friendly, cheerful soul, always bearing a warm smile and wanting to help, and serving with dedication in whatever he did. He was the Society’s point person in organising our popular Fresher’s events and was passionate about mentoring students. His will be dearly missed by all of us. We extend our deepest condolences to his wife Alyssa and his family. The wake will take place on Sunday 22 October 2017, 6pm, at Purity Hall, Mount Vernon Sanctuary, 121 Upper Aljunied Road, Singapore 367878. Visiting will continue on Monday, 11am – 10pm.

Agenda for Oxford and Cambridge Society Annual General Meeting, 2 Goodwood Hill, 14 July 2016, 7PM


1. Adopt Amendments to the Society’s Constitution

The Committee proposes the following amendments to Articles 5 and 7 of the Constitution of the Society (with additions in bold underline and deletions struck through).

5 Officers and Committee

5.1 The management of the Society shall be vested in a Committee to be elected from ordinary and life Members at the Annual General Meeting every second year. Standing for office by proxy in absentia would be permitted, provided a letter of consent of from the candidate is produced by someone present at the Annual General Meeting. The Committee shall consist of the following officers:

The President

The Immediate Past President

The Vice-President for Oxford

The Vice-President for Cambridge

The Honorary Secretary

The Assistant Honorary Secretary

The Honorary Treasurer

The Assistant Honorary Treasurer

The Liaison Officer from the British High Commission

Twelve Fourteen members

The term of office of the Committee shall be two years. All officers, except the Honorary Treasurer, may be re-elected.

*The Immediate Past President shall automatically be part of the Committee without need for election.

5.4 Upon the approval of the Registrar of Societies to the amendment to paragraph 5.1 of the Constitution to enlarge the number of non-office bearing Committee members from 126 to 1412, the Committee may forthwith appoint 26 new members of the Committee as non office-bearing members, such appointment to be effective until the next election of Committee members.

7 Annual General Meetings

The Annual General Meeting of the Society shall be held by July of each calendar year and other general meetings shall be held at such times as the Committee shall deem necessary. At least two (2) weeks’ notice shall be given of an Annual General (inclusive of weekends and public holidays). Notice of meeting stating the date, time and place of meeting shall be sent by the Secretary to all voting members. The particulars of the agenda shall be posted on the Society’s website four (4) days in advance of the meeting. Any nomination for officers of the Society shall be supported by a nominator and seconder, both of whom must be members of the Society, and shall may be submitted to the Secretary no later than two one weeks before the meeting. Nomination for officers of the Society shall not also be allowed during the Annual General Meeting. One- tenth of the voting membership or thirty (30) voting members present at a General Meeting, whichever is the lesser, shall form a quorum for the Meeting, provided that only one-tenth or more of the voting membership shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of altering, amending or making additions to the existing rules. At every Annual General Meeting a statement of accounts for the past year shall be submitted by the Treasurer. An office bearer shall hold office for the ensuing 2 years and elections for the Committee shall only be held at every alternate Annual General Meeting. Every 2nd year the election of the Committee for the Society for the ensuing 2 years shall take place. In the event of there being no quorum present at a meeting that meeting shall be adjourned a half hour later and should the number then present be insufficient to form a quorum those present shall be considered a quorum but they shall have no power to alter, amend or make additions to any of the existing rules.

2. Adopt the Minutes of the previous AGM convened on 9 September 2015.

3. Confirm and adopt the Secretary’s Report.

4. Confirm and adopt the Treasurer’s Report and the Accounts of the Society as of 31 December 2015.

5. Election of New Committee Members for 2016-2018.

6. Appointment of Honorary Auditors for 2016-2018.

The Documents referred to above have been circulated via email.

Update on Interview Training Session at British Council

On Saturday, 28 June a group of volunteers worked together with Committee Member Tyler Hung and the British Council to run a pro-bono interview workshop, with the aim being to demystify the process and guide students in their university preparations. The event was well attended by at least 25 students and we received strong positive feedback, as well as successfully mentoring students to places.  More details to come.

Members of the Committee and the subcommittee on education received detailed briefs from Cambridge themselves, and a number of colleges are planning on getting involved in future iterations!

Thank you very much to our volunteers for spending a Saturday afternoon with the students and to Tyler organising and coordinating. Tyler co-leads the subcommittee on education, so do please email him if you want to get involved in future events.

Committee Members – Year 2012 to 2014

We are pleased to announce that a new Committee has been elected following the 2012 AGM. The new members are as follows:

Name Designation
Mr Michael Hwang President
Mr Ng Yeau Chong Vice President for Oxford
Mr Paul Supramaniam Vice President for Cambridge
Mr Michael Odgers Honorary Secretary
Mr Cheong Jin Yu Honorary Treasurer
Mr Dominic Soon Assistant Honorary Secretary
Ms Caitriona Heinl Assistant Honorary Treasurer
Ms Bonnie B. Lee Member
Mr Tan Yi-Xun Member
Mr Toh Han Li Member
Ms Melanie Chew Member
Ms Boon Siew Kam Member
Mr Melvin Tan Member
Mr Paul Broom Liaison Officer from the British High Commission